GATESHEAD METROPOLITAN BOROUGH COUNCIL

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

Friday, 21 May 2021

PRESENT: THE MAYOR COUNCILLOR M HOOD

Councillors: J Adams, Anderson, R Beadle, D Bradford, M Brain, C Buckley, D Burnett, L Caffrey, M Charlton, B Clelland, P Craig, S Craig, C Davison, W Dick, S Dickie, Diston, K Dodds, C Donovan, A Douglas, D Duggan, John Eagle, S Gallagher, M Gannon, A Geddes, F Geddes, J Gibson, B Goldsworthy, M Goldsworthy, T Graham, S Green, M Hall, S Hawkins, H Haran, H Kelly, L Kirton, K McCartney, K McClurey, J McElroy, E McMaster, M McNestry, R Mullen, B Oliphant, M Ord, R Oxberry, I Patterson, Reay, S Ronchetti, J Simpson, J Wallace, R Waugh, A Wheeler, K Wood, Robson, McCoid, Mohammed, J Green, Turner and Weatherley

APOLOGIES: Councillors: L Green, G Haley, P Maughan, P McNally, C Ord and

J Turnbull

CL1 ELECTION OF MAYOR

As required by Section 3 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council proceeded to the election of the Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor B Clelland seconded by Councillor M Hall, moved that Councillor D Burnett be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead for the ensuing municipal year.

COUNCIL RESOLVED

 That Councillor D Burnett be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead for the ensuing municipal year until acceptance of office by her successor.

Councillor D Burnett accepted the office of Mayor by making and subscribing the declaration required by law and expressed her thanks for the high honour accorded to her.

CL2 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the office of Deputy Mayor as required by Section 5 of the Local Government Act 1972.

On the motion of Councillor J Reay, seconded by Councillor K Dodds:-

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That Councillor R Waugh be elected Deputy

Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead

for the ensuing municipal year until acceptance of office by his successor.

Councillor R Waugh accepted the office of Deputy Mayor by making and subscribing the declaration required by law and expressed his thanks for the high honour accorded to him.

CL3 VOTE OF THANKS

On the motion of Councillor M Gannon, seconded by Councillor C Donovan:-

COUNCIL RESOLVED

That the Council conveys its appreciation for the work of Councillor M Hood, Mrs J Hood and Councillor D Burnett for the performance of the many duties expected of them as Mayor, Mayoress and Deputy Mayor respectively.

CL4 ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS

The Chief Executive reported that the following Councillors were elected on 6 May 2021 to represent the wards indicated.

Ward		Elected	
No 1	Crawcrook and Greenside	Kathleen McCartney	Labour
No 2	Ryton, Crookhill and Stella	Christopher Buckley	Labour
No 3	Chopwell and Rowlands Gill	Dave Bradford	Labour
No 4	Winlaton and High Spen	Julie Simpson	Labour
No 5	Blaydon	Stephen Ronchetti	Labour
No 6	Whickham North	Sonya Hawkins	Liberal Democrat
No 7	Whickham South and Sunniside	Jonathan Mohammed	Liberal Democrat
No 8	Dunston Hill and Whickham East	Peter Maughan	Liberal Democrat
No 9	Dunston and Teams	Brenda Clelland	Labour
No 11	Saltwell	Denise Robson	Labour
No 12	Low Fell	Daniel Duggan	Liberal Democrat
No 13	Chowdene	John McElroy	Labour
No 14	Bridges	John Eagle	Labour
No 15	Deckham	Leigh Kirton	Labour
No 16	High Fell	Jill Green	Labour
No 17	Felling	Sonya Dickie	Labour
No 18	Windy Nook and Whitehills	Rachel Mullen	Labour
No 19	Pelaw and Heworth	Ian Patterson	Liberal Democrat
No 20	Wardley and Leam Lane	Linda Green	Labour
No 21	Lamesley	Jane McCoid	Labour
	-	Judith Turner	Labour
No 22	Birtley	Catherine Davison	Labour
	·	Hazel Weatherley	Labour

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That the information be noted.

CL5 ALLOCATION OF SEATS

On the motion of Councillor M Gannon, duly seconded:

COUNCIL RESOLVED

That in accordance with Sections 15 and 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the allocation of seats on those bodies to which the Act applies, to the various political groups represented on the Council, as set out in the attached schedule (Appendix 1b(i)) be approved.

CL6 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES OF THE COUNCIL AND OTHER BODIES EXERCISING NON EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS

(i) Labour Group Nominations

Councillor M Gannon, duly seconded, moved that the members listed at Appendix CL6(i) to these minutes be appointed to the Planning and Development , Licensing, Regulatory, Appeals, Rights of Way, Personnel Appeals, Special Appointments, Contracts, Audit and Standards and Accounts Committees, Pensions and Pay Discretions Sub-Committee; the Health and Wellbeing Board; the Overview and Scrutiny Committees; the Northumbria Police and Crime Panel; Northumberland, Tyne and Wear and North Durham STP Joint Health Scrutiny Committee; the Honours Advisory Group and outside bodies dealing with functions that are not wholly an executive responsibility for the municipal year 2021/22.

COUNCIL RESOLVED

- That the nominations of the Labour Group listed at Appendix 1b(ii) to these minutes be agreed.

(ii) Liberal Democrat Nominations

On the motion of Councillor J Wallace, duly seconded:

COUNCIL RESOLVED

That the members listed at Appendix 1b(iii) to these minutes be appointed to the Planning and Development, Licensing, Regulatory, Appeals, Rights of Way, Personnel Appeals, Special Appointments, Contracts, Audit and Standards, and Accounts Committees; Pensions and Pay Discretions Sub-Committee; the Health and Wellbeing Board; the Overview and Scrutiny Committees; the Northumbria Police and Crime Panel; Northumberland, Tyne and Wear and North Durham STP Joint Health Scrutiny Committee; the Honours Advisory Group and outside bodies

dealing with functions that are not wholly an executive responsibility for the municipal year 2021/22.

(iii) Independent Nominations

On the motion of Councillor K McClurey, duly seconded:

COUNCIL RESOLVED

 That the member listed at Appendix 1b(iv) to these minutes be appointed to the Appeals Committee and the Overview and Scrutiny Committees.

CL7 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRS AND VICE CHAIRS

On the motion of Councillor M Gannon, duly seconded:

COUNCIL RESOLVED

That the chairs and vice-chairs of the bodies listed in Annex A to Part 3 of the Constitution and of the Overview and Scrutiny Committees for the municipal year 2021/22 as listed at Appendix 1b(v) to these minutes be approved.

Mayor	 	